Twenty Questions: An Interview With Alan Dale

I’m sure you’ve all noticed that it’s really MORE than twenty questions, it just sounds cooler than “Twenty Three Questions”…LOL…

I just recently finished DNA: Code Flesh by Alan Dale. What a wonderful read! Edgy, slightly political, gory, & full of zany zombie goodness, it’s a must have for any zombiephile! This one takes the genre to a different level. It really makes you stop & think about how our world COULD end up, scrats or no. As a result, I wanted to take a few and spend a little time getting to know the author.

The man behind the scrats...Q. Where are you from?

A. Originally from Chicago and raised for a while there. Went to college at the University of Arizona. Currently live in Portland, Oregon.

Q. Tell us a bit about your family…Are you married, single, have kids, etc….

A. I have never been married and because of that no kids. Gee, go figure? But I currently live with my lovely girlfriend Thia Allen, her two dogs and my kick ass cat, Kid.

Q. As a child, what did you want to do when you grew up?

A. Well, I knew I would write. I started writing when I was four or five and even penned a 20-page book about microscopic mice looking for a baseball field to play their annual game on after the rains came. But, I always wanted to do whatever I decided to pursue. I always believed I could be good at anything if I put my mind in the right place.

Q. What is your favorite food?

A. I love to eat zombie leftovers…j/k. I really dig my pizza, macaroni and cheese, sushi, a good stir fry, plenty of fruits and vegetables, and soups. I am Hungarian so I really dig our foods as well.

Q. What do you do to unwind and relax?

A. I tend to watch a lot of sports and movies or TV shows. Of course I tend to read a ton so that will occupy me. I also enjoy exercising. I am trying to keep the fat off so the zombies pass me by on the way to the chow line.

Q. When & why did you start writing?

A. I started at four or five years old. Why? No idea. Just started. Wrote the mouse book and just went from there. I would bet that I have written over, no lie, 10 million words in my life. With all the journalism I was involved in, etc. It’s just something I do, as cheesy as that may sound.

Q. Who or what has influenced your writing, and in what way?

A. No one directly. But, I love great books and admire good writers. I loved King and Clavell since I was young. I read The Stand, Salem’s Lot, Carrie, Cujo, Shogun, Noble House, and Helter Skelter by fifth grade. I also have enjoyed Anne Rice, Aristotle, Robert Ludlum, Leo Tolstoy, Hemmingway, Charlaine Harris, and many, many others.

DNA: Code FleshQ. Tell us your latest news.

A. Well, my first ebook, “DNA: Code Flesh (Part I) has been available for about four weeks and has done well. Sold enough to go get a good sushi dinner…twice, but not make it a day job yet. Yet, it’s a novella and for being a noname author I believe it’s doing quite well. Also, Part II will be done shortly so now I am looking for publishers that may want to publish the entire, actual, book, CODE FLESH, which will launch the DEAD NATIONS’ SERIES trilogy. The idea at first was to do one, standalone, 800-page epic, but decided to go trilogy route to make things easier to digest for the readers. If I get a publisher, which I may, I will either go with them or release Part II as a novella for those who bought Part I and then I will also self-release CODE FLESH.

Q. How did you come up with the title for your book?

A. Well it is basically focused on the evolution of the human race’s ultimate reaching of equilibrium and karma all at once. It begins with the flesh, then continues with the (CODE) mind, then ultimately rests with the (CODE) soul. And the DEAD NATIONS’ ARMY represents an analogous definition of what the protagonists symbolize, but also is reflected of a political statement of how I believe the world is headed and who champions us.

Q. What is the hardest part of writing?

A. Writing itself? Easy as eating pie. Finding the time? Now, that’s the hard part.

Q. What books have most influenced your life?

A. Horror, history, biography, science fiction, and true crime.

Q. If you had to choose, which writer would you consider a mentor?

A. Stephen King most notably.

Q. How does your family and/or friends feel about your book or writing venture in general?

A. I have always been supported and well received for it. I won a lot of awards early on in life and I guess that made it cool and so my supporters were all for it. In high school, teachers told me that whole classes would open the school newspaper right to my column and everyone wanted to read that first. It’s just who I am.

Q. If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your book?

A. Yes. I would make it even better than it is now…because I am never satisfied.

Q. Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

A. King. His ability to write in a way that you find yourself 20-50 pages down so quickly. It’s like putting warm butter on warmer bread – smooth, easy, tasty.

Q. What about the horror genre interests you?

A. The fact many stories are fun analogies of how f***** up life can be.

Q. What scares you?

A. Only one thing: failure.

Q. What was your first introduction to horror literature, the one that made you choose that genre to write?

A. Sheesh, probably when I read Dracula or Carrie back in second or third grade. I was an advanced reader.

Q. What is your favorite horror movie?

A. Of all time? Lordy. Probably a major tie between the first two Romero films, TCM, the Exorcist, Hellraiser I, 30 Days of Night, and a ton of the old Universal, RKO and Hammer horror films.

Q. Why should fans of horror movies read horror books?

A. Why the Hell not?!

Q. What would I find in your refrigerator right now?

A. A ton of Diet Pepsi, cheese, and cold cuts. Oh! And a ton of fruit.

Q. What was the last movie you went to see?

A. Chimpanzee. It was cute.

Q. If you could trade places with any other person for a week, famous or not famous, living or dead, real or fictional, who would it be & why?

A. Christiano Ronaldo. Um, c’mon, really?

Q. How would you describe yourself in three words?

A. Passionate, Funny, Deep.

Q. If you were a car, what kind would you be?

A. A pinto…because I am reading to blow up.

 Thank you so much Alan, for taking the time to answer some questions for all of us! Your attention is very much appreciated! If you haven’t already, get your copy of DNA: Code Flesh by Alan Dale. Here’s a little more info on DNA: Code Flesh…

A BIT MORE ON DNA!

For years the planet was run by the New World Order, but not to its liking. After mandating the use of death row and life sentenced inmates as subjects in scientific experiments, the NWO has decided to tighten its grip through its greatest political decision. However, the experiment backfires, leaving the world in the middle of a war stuck in the middle of another war.
Two of those combatants, Bridjett and Shad Alexi, siblings, torn apart by different allegiances both work to find the common ground amidst a war that will soon grow beyond the parameters anyone would have ever imagined.
Having contaminated the “cocktail” used to keep prisoner test subjects, or SCRATS, alive, the NWO hoped to create an army purely under its command. Little did they know the “cocktail” would turn thousands of SCRATS into zombies and lead to a worldwide epidemic of undead walking the earth.
Led by Bridjett and the DNA roving army, the survivors, mostly trapped in various gated communities around the world, await the replenishment of food, medications, and supplies in order to survive the constant threat of zombies on the other side of the wall.
What the DNA didn’t expect was the NWO’s need to feed the new undead army to keep them compliant. Only what they don’t know is Shad Alexi’s plans to give the people a fighting chance, even if it involves going against the NWO he fights for. Now, a war for the lives of the remaining humans on earth is waged as government and survivors, battle for the right to claim control for the lives of the people.

The Dead Nations’ Army trilogy begins with Code Flesh which examines the origins of the scrat infection and its ultimate growth. It also discusses the many issues that face the world today, such as how the have-nots sustain themselves in a world gone dead, the different groups that ultimately arise from the apocalypse, and of course, how to destroy the NWO.
Code Flesh (Part I) hopes to get your taste buds whet and ready for the finale in Part II, which is set for a May release.

So go & get your copy at the following links:

Amazon – http://www.amazon.com/DNA-FLESH-Zombie-Nations-ebook/dp/B007PL1C18/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1335813422&sr=1-1

Goodreads – http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/13569984-dna

Go & visit the fan page at http://www.facebook.com/DNACODEFLESH#!/WeRZombies

Alan Dale’s Twitter Pagehttps://twitter.com/#!/ADaleandDNAArmy

Alan Dale’s Blog – http://alandale.wordpress.com/

~ by susanmc1127 on April 30, 2012.

2 Responses to “Twenty Questions: An Interview With Alan Dale”

  1. Awesome!!

  2. […] https://susanmcblogs.wordpress.com/2012/04/30/twenty-questions-an-interview-with-alan-dale/ Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. Alan Dale, Amazon Books, Author Bio, Horror, Writer Shout OUT, Zombie Related, Zombies ← Alan Dale Talks about DNA: CODE FLESH […]

Leave a Reply

 
